Stages, types and grades

The stage of a cancer tells you how big it is, and the grade tells you how fast it might grow. 


There are a number of different types of vulval cancer. The most common type is squamous cell. 

Stages and grades

The stage and grade of a cancer helps your doctor decide which treatment you need.

Vulval intraepithelial neoplasia (VIN)

Vulval intraepithelial neoplasia (VIN) is a skin condition of the vulva. Find out about symptoms and treatment options.

Stage 1

Stage 1 vulval cancer means it is only present in the vulva.

Stage 2

Stage 2 vulval cancer means the cancer has spread to nearby tissue. 

Stage 3

Stage 3 is divided into stages 3A, 3B and 3C. In this stage, the cancer can be any size.

Stage 4

Stage 4 vulval cancer is advanced cancer. It is divided into stage 4A and 4B.

Last reviewed: 
14 Jun 2019
Coronavirus and cancer

We know it’s a worrying time for people with cancer, we have information to help.

Read our information about coronavirus and cancer