Stages of stomach cancer

The stage of a cancer tells you how big it is and whether it has spread. It helps your doctor decide which treatment you need. There are different ways of staging stomach cancer. There is the TNM system and the number staging system. This includes high grade dysplasia (stage 0) and stage 1 to stage 4. 

TNM staging for stomach cancer

Tumour, node and metastasis (TNM) staging is the most common way that doctors stage stomach cancer. 

High grade dysplasia of the stomach

High grade dysplasia means there are severely abnormal cells in the inner lining of the stomach.

Stage 1 stomach cancer

Stage 1 stomach cancer usually means that your cancer hasn’t spread beyond the thick muscle in the stomach wall.

Stage 2 stomach cancer

Stage 2 stomach cancer means your cancer has spread into or through the inner, supportive or muscle layer of the stomach. It might have also spread into nearby lymph nodes.

Stage 3 stomach cancer

Stage 3 stomach cancer means your cancer might have grown into or through the inner, supportive, muscle or outer layer of the stomach. It might have spread to nearby lymph nodes.

Stage 4 stomach cancer

Stage 4 stomach cancer has spread into nearby organs or body structures, or it has spread to distant body parts. 

Last reviewed: 
22 Sep 2022
Next review due: 
22 Sep 2025