Stages, types and grades

The stage of a bowel cancer tells you how big it is and whether it has spread. There are different ways of staging bowel cancer. There is a number staging system, the TNM system and the Dukes' staging system.

The type tells you which type of cell the cancer started in and where it began. Bowel cancer can start in the large bowel (colon cancer) or the back passage (rectal cancer). It is also called colorectal cancer. 

The grade means how abnormal the cells look under the microscope.

Grades and types of bowel cancer

The grade of a bowel (colorectal) cancer tells you how quickly it may grow or spread. Bowel cancer is also divided into different types depending on the type of cell that your cancer started in.

TNM Staging

Tumour, node and metastasis (TNM) staging is one of the systems used to stage bowel (colon and rectal) cancer.

Number stages of bowel cancer

There are different ways to stage bowel cancer. The number staging system has 5 different stages of bowel cancer - stage 0 to stage 4. 

Dukes' staging system

The most common system to stage bowel cancer is TNM staging. But you might hear your doctor talking about your bowel caner as Dukes’ A,B,C or D.

Last reviewed: 
10 Dec 2021
Next review due: 
10 Dec 2024
Coronavirus and cancer

We know it’s a worrying time for people with cancer, we have information to help.

Read our information about coronavirus and cancer